How to enjoy Christmas

2016-12-27_16-49-30

Last year, I said that we enjoy Christmas, rather celebrate it. This year, I would like to write how we do that.

For me, enjoyment has to include good food, nice wine and wonderful company. I have already sorted my company out – my husband, the best company I could ever imagine.

So, for food and wine, this is what we got for Christmas. Please note that this is for 2 people.

List of Goodies:

5kg leg of ham

4 kg block of beef scotch fillet

3kg of frozen tiger prawns

A fillet of salmon with its head and flame

Some small goods (blue cheese, pecorino cheese, Italian prosciutto, hot Hungarian salami, chicken liver pate)

Some slices of smoky bacon

2 bottles of procecco

6 bottles of chardonnay – “ Floris” from Domain Naturalist, my current favourite

12 bottles of red – my husband’s choice

 

This is how we enjoyed:

The 23rd: Christmas lunch at work. Salmon Sashimi for a snack at home followed by my husband’s colleague’s house warming party. Her hummus was delicious!

Christmas Eve: Crispy grilled Salmon head and frame for lunch. After that, we went on a night movie picnic with our friends at UWA – PIAF movie (“Julieta” by Petro Almodovar) with Sushi Rolls (made by me) and some small goods with a bottle of procecco. I like Petro Almodovar movies, but we agreed that Julieta was not his best.

Christmas Day: We woke up and opened the Christmas presents. Smoky bacon and egg + salad for breakfast by my husband. After a walk at City Beach, a bottle of bubbles was opened with some cheese, pate and ham. I made Aji Salsa and Lupin Hummus for nibbling. We continued to drink and nibble. Dinner was my husband’s speciality – Roast Beef with gravy, with a side of salad. Desert was a slice of Christmas cake with vanilla ice cream. I baked the cake a month ago and had been feeding it with brandy and white chocolate port (Gralyn Estate, Margaret River). Look at this juicy cake! The cake recipe is from https://www.thehealthychef.com/2014/11/a-healthy-christmas-cake/

2016-12-27_16-43-47

Boxing Day: We woke up (still) full, but ate the left-over salad anyway. We went to swim at City Beach – it was still very rough but manageable. After a swim, a bottle of bubbles was opened with prawns. We continued to drink. Dinner was the left-over Roast Beef with gravy, with a side of salad followed by the Christmas cake with ice cream.

The 27th: I went to dance practice in the morning. Well done me! I came back and had some slices of hams and lupin hummus with a slice of bread. We went for walk to the city and had a glass of bubbles, while my “good” husband had a cup of coffee. While he was cooking for dinner, I watched “About Time” (by Richard Curtis) again with a couple glasses of “Floris”. I love this movie. Dinner was ham and tomato soup. It was delicious. According to my husband, we will go on a soup diet for the rest of the week. Good idea.

The left-over beef, salmon fillets and prawns are in the freezer, small goods are left in the fridge, and I have no doubt that they will be gone soon. The leg of ham would be the only actual “left-over”, but it can be used as a soup stock. Wines? Ha! It is not an issue.

Well…. I just realised that I wanted to write how I enjoy Christmas, but, this sounds like just a list of what we ate over Christmas…. I have to admit though, I had a wonderful time.

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas season. Now I have to work on Osechi for New Year.

Published by

naokochristofis

I am Japanese living in Perth Australia, who loves to cook, eat and dance Flamenco. My blog " A little bit of Soy" has a variety range of Japanese Recipes including traditional Japanese dishes and my creations.

Leave a Reply

