His Birthday Weekend – 2017

January 2017. It was a busy and interesting start to the year. After eating and drinking throughout the festive period, we headed to Adelaide to celebrate our father (my father-in-law)’s 70th birthday. We came back and moved to a new apartment and then we headed to Sydney separately. It was for business for my husband, and for me it was a kind of business/leisure/experimentation. Time flew and we realised that the weekend was truly the last weekend of this month.

I have enjoyed this crazy month, but the worst thing was that he had to have the business trip on his birthday. Yes I normally do a “Birthday Week” for me, but I thought it is fair to apply this concept to my poor husband this year.

Thursday: I baked his birthday cake.

2017-01-26_16-15-36

I tried to bake this one….

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/chocolate-mousse-cake/d12b92e5-d1ef-4fd7-8d62-1e4462047424?r=recipes/top10chocolatecakerecipes&c=1080a64b-a5e8-4567-a50c-265eeb0d4439/Top%2010%20chocolate%20cake%20recipes

Well, we just moved here and I haven’t made friends with the oven yet. It was cooked too long and the centre was not particularly “mousse”…. A recovery was made by the Coffee Mascarpone frosting. I added a magic ingredient – BRANDY!

We went shopping and bought a few things which he wanted. You know what? I did not buy anything for myself. All were for him! Then, we went to the Australia Day Function at Fraser’s but it was unfortunately cancelled. It was quite surreal to see that kind of thing in real time.

Friday: we unfortunately had to go to work, but a good thing was that it was already the weekend. His birthday cake was well received at his work (thanks to the magic ingredient), which was good to hear. For dinner, I cooked Crispy Salmon. Of course, we opened a bottle of red. We just enjoyed a relaxing dinner together which we had not had for a while.

Saturday: Today I was his responsible chauffeur. The destination was Swan Valley. The first stop was Riverbank Winery for his birthday lunch. It was a hot day so we decided to order a bottle of bubble called “White Diamond”. It was pretty nice and we bought 3 bottles. We visited a few wineries after that, and at Houghton (where he found his “Today’s Favourite”), the waiter recommended “Mann Winery” for sparkling wine. This winery only sells 1 think – sparkling, and opens only for 6 months from August. There was no doubt why we had never been there before. When we arrived there, the door was closed so we rang the bell as per the instructions on the entrance door. Mr Mann came out and let us in. the cellar door was a lovely small wooden hut and smelt like a mixture of wine and timber. I loved the smell!. It was not fancy or anything but we loved the authenticity. He told us about his family story: how this place and his wine were established. The sparkling itself was tasty. The colour is slightly pink. We purchased 6 bottles.

Sunday: Well…, the day did not go as well as we planned (e.g. unsuccessful breakfast at Leederville, traffic to the grocery shopping etc.), but we still had a relaxing day. Furthermore, for me, it was just nice to have a normal Sunday after our unusual days.

I hope he enjoyed his birthday weekend as much as I did.

Published by

naokochristofis

I am Japanese living in Perth Australia, who loves to cook, eat and dance Flamenco. My blog " A little bit of Soy" has a variety range of Japanese Recipes including traditional Japanese dishes and my creations.

Leave a Reply

